Dense Cakes

I have a problem, I am a chronic over-mixer. I don’t remember having this problem with my early baking. Really seems to have come on since receiving my super awesome stand mixer.

I notice it most when I make cupcakes. This week, for Lauren’s birthday,  I made some Chai Tea Cupcakes. I didn’t modify the recipe at all, word for word,  straight out of Martha Stewart Cupcakes. They tasted great, especially with the cream cheese icing. But they were dense. More of a muffin. No hints of light and moist cake, like a cupcake should have been.

Chai Tea Dense-cake....

Chai Tea Dense-cake….

I know the rules. Cream the fat and sugar starting on the lowest speed, working up to high speed. And don’t over mix. I remind myself every time. Don’t over mix. What else can I do. Am I destined to go back to hand mixing, with a wooden spoon? I’m not sure I would actually mind that much. I’ll need some new,  light weight, mixing bowls. But I do love my stand mixer…. Any suggestions?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

