Yule Log

Over the holidays I made my first attempt at a Recipe from my mum’s old Be-Ro cookbook. I can’t find a publication date on the book, but I’m guessing 70’s. I remember baking fairy cakes from this book with my mum when I was little.

I used the chocolate swiss roll recipe to make a yule log for dessert after Christmas dinner. My first attempt came out too flat, no self raising flour. Second attempt I added some baking soda, baking powder and a dash of salt and it rose nicely.

Chocolate Swiss Roll
2 eggs
75 g/3 oz castor sugar
50 g/2 oz self raising flour
25 g/1 0z cocoa powder
 
Line a swiss roll tin with parchment paper. Pre Heat oven to 425.
Break eggs into a bowl, whisk lightly, add sugar and whisk well until thick and creamy and almost white.
Lightly fold flour and cocoa into mixture. Pour mixture into lined pan. Bake for 7-8 minutes. Don’t over bake.
Turn out onto sugared parchment, remove lining paper, trim edges and roll with fresh parchment inside.
Allow to cool, then gently unroll, remove paper and spread with Buttercream, then re-roll.
Coat with chocolate buttercream and decorate.

filled and rolled

The recipe was quick and easy. When I make it again I will cut the baking time about a minute as I found the cake a little dry. I flavoured the filling butter cream with Almond and used chocolate for the coating. Dusted it with a little cocoa and festive red bird.

done and yum

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yule Log

  1. Ashala Daniel says:

    you are a freakin’ bakin’ genius.

Leave a Reply

