Muffin Man

helping

My friend’s mum has a very productive veggie garden. We reap the rewards of her toil! Cuccumbers, peas and zucchini–lots of them.

I found a super simple recipe online for zucchini muffins. I’ve made them four times so far. Each time I made a few changes, and each time the muffins turned out light, moist and not too sweet. They are easier to peel out of the paper liners on the second day. The recipe says to wrap them all individually and keep them in the fridge. I didn’t. I kept them on a plate or in a container and they were fine. So fine that they’re not around for more than a few days, so I guess I don’t need to worry about wrapping them separately!

2 cups all purpose flour
2 cups shredded zucchini unpeeled (about 1 whole)
1/2 cup lightly packed brown sugar–  I have substituted agave syrup!
1 tsp each baking soda and baking powder
1 tsp cinamon
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/4 tsp each nutmeg and mace (?)
1/2 tsp salt
1 egg
3/4 cup buttermilk or plain yogurt (low fat)– I have used full fat vanilla yogurt and non fat vanilla yogurt.
1/4 cup vegetable oil
 
Preheat oven to 350. Line a muffin pan with paper liners or lightly grease the pan.
Mix all of the dry ingredients in a bowl. Add the zucchini to the dry mixture and combine.
Whisk together yogurt, egg and oil. (I also add 1 tsp of vanilla) Add this to zucchini mixture, stir until just mixed. Fill muffin cups and bake for 30 minutes. Enjoy!!
 
 
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Muffin Man

  1. Jennie Rutz says:

    ooo i wanna try a gluten free version of these! yum

Leave a Reply

