96th birthday cupcakes

Three birthdays with the sum being 96–not actually a 96th birthday. But still pretty special!!! I headed to the internet to find a recipe that I hadn’t tried before. Found a very simple chocolate cupcake recipe at http://www.allrecipes.com. It had mixed reviews, but I gave it a go. The only change I made was to use 1 teaspoon of vanilla instead of 3/4 of a teaspoon of vanilla. (it really called for 3/4 teaspoon–come on….) I also made every effort to not over mix it. My yield was 18 cupcakes, and they took about 20 minutes in the oven. Deffo don’t over fill the cups. The batter tasted like chocolate pudding, which I thought was a good sign.

  • 1 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 3 tablespoons butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 cups white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup milk
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Line a muffin pan with paper or foil liners. Sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, cocoa and salt. Set aside.
  2. In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add the eggs one at a time, beating well with each addition, then stir in the vanilla. Add the flour mixture alternately with the milk; beat well. Fill the muffin cups 3/4 full.
  3. Bake for 15 to 17 minutes in the preheated oven, or until a toothpick inserted into the cake comes out clean. Frost with your favorite frosting when cool.

For the frosting I wanted chocolate peanut butter. I read a bunch of recipes online and decided to make my own. My first foray into making up a recipe! It worked out really well. About halfway through I was nervous I had made a mess of it, but I added a little more milk and mixed it for longer–perfect! I topped them with pieces of Reece Peanut butter cup–yup.

star tip next on the shopping list.....

 

For the frosting : 2 oz Baker’s chocolate
1/3 cup smooth peanut butter
2 tbs soft butter
1/2 tsp vanilla
4 tbs milk
2 cups icing sugar, sifted
Melt the Baker’s Chocolate in a bowl over a pan of boiling water.
While it is cooling, cream together the butters and vanilla. Add the chocolate when cool and beat together, then add the sugar and milk alternately. Then pipe or spread on once cupcakes are cooled.

The cupcakes travelled well to dinner, then to the karaoke party, in my cupcake carrier. The sight of them had customers and staff at Nuba drooling. We left one on the table for our server. Hopefully she got to eat it!

The cupcakes went over well–although most people wished they had a big glass of milk in their hand instead of a beer. They were rich and moist, and my frosting was super yum. Just the right pb and choc combination.

Success all around, I’d say. Great food, friends, karaoke and cupcakes. Happy Birthday Friends!!xx

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

