Not so Fail

Today was a baby shower/party for our friend’s new arrival. I offered to bring some treats, but baked them Friday night, as Kyle and I went to Seattle on Saturday. I decided to try the recipe for Martha’s One Bowl Chocolate Cupcakes because it gets rave reviews. The twenty minutes on the timer was almost up and it was pretty clear that I had done something wrong. They didn’t rise! I’m pretty sure it was something to do with the buttermilk, I don’t think I rehydrated the powder properly. I should have just made my own with soy milk and a little vinegar. This was Friday night, no time to bake a new batch, so I piped a swirl of buttercream on them and pronounced them fairycakes!

oh no!!!!!!!!!

3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 cups sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
3/4 teaspoon salt
2 large eggs
3/4 cup warm water
3/4 cup buttermilk
3 tablespoons vegetable oil
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line cupcake pans with liners; set aside. In a large mixing bowl, sift together cocoa, flour, sugar, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Add the eggs, warm water, buttermilk, oil, and vanilla; mix batter until smooth, about 3 minutes. Scrape down the sides and bottom of bowl to assure batter is well mixed.
Divide batter evenly among liners, filling each about one-third full. Bake until tops spring back when touched, about 20 minutes, rotating pan once if needed. Transfer to a wire rack; let cool completely.

I didn’t get a good photo of them iced, but they did get compliments, and a boy of about ten years old said they were ‘Awesome!’ Good enough for me! I tried one, and they were dense like a brownie, and moist-topped with buttercream-delish!

blurry bite

Buttercream
1 cup butter
3 cups powdered sugar
1 tsp vanilla
1-2 tbsp whipping cream (I used milk)

Saturday morning we dropped the Wee man off with friends for a sleepover and headed off to Seattle. Snow made for slow going, lots of cars in the ditches. Then there was a wait at the border. Then we got hauled into customs, not sure why. Kyle’s beard? Too young for the car? Who knows, but it was certainly time we would have rather spent at the SAM looking at Picasso. Which we didn’t do. When we got to Seattle we didn’t want to rush, so we sat in a pub for some lunch-Good choice!!  Once re-fueled we headed out record shopping, a total success!!

that's better

We dropped Kyle’s records off to continue on to Cakespy! I was so excited to see the shop. We found the shop and Mrs. Spy was holding down the fort-even better. Although I did turn into a bit of a shy schoolgirl when we went in. (me? really??) We looked at all the wares on the main floor; crafts, cards, prints and paintings, t-shirts, jewellery… in the shop there is a rad iron spiral staircase to the loft level which is a gallery for paintings. It’s not a surprise, but Mrs. Spy, (Jessie-first name basis, haha!) is SO sweet!! I asked her how long she had been doing the blog -‘3 years’.  Which came first, blog or shop? -‘ blog, shop has been open since May’. She described it as a collection of everything sweet. She’s also super cute, like her cuppie paintings. It was great to meet her, and put a face/voice to the blog. I picked up a Johnny Cash finger puppet for the Wee Man.

The Man in Black

I wish I had thought to get a photo in the shop….as we were walking to our next stop, (friend’s birthday dinner at Oddfellows) Kyle suggested we go back to get my photo, but I couldn’t bring myself to go back in and ask. Next time!!

The rest of the night we spent with friends, food and drinks. All in all a successful international date night!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

