Lemon Loaf

Yesterday I thought about baking something lemony, so today I did. Took my first crack at lemon loaf. It turned out well, tasty and not too sweet. It didn’t rise a whole lot-not like store bought or coffee shop loaf slices. But I guess those are more like cake than loaf. I found the recipe online at food.com and it was super simple.

1/2 cup butter (I used Earth Balance)

juicy

1 cup sugar
2 eggs
1/2 cup milk (I used soy)
1 1/2 cups of flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
zest of 1 lemon–use organic!
Cream together butter and sugar in a large bowl. Add the eggs one at a time until beat until creamy. Blend in the milk. In a medium bowl combine the dry ingredients and lemon zest. Add to the batter and stir until moist. Pour into a greased loaf pan and bake at 350 for 55 to 60 minutes. Poke holes in to top with a toothpick when you take it out of the oven. Let cool 5 minutes on a wire rack, then spoon glaze over the top and let cool completely.
Glaze- juice of one lemon
1/4 cup sugar ( I used powdered sugar)
heat in a sauce pan until sugar disolves

 

loaf

 

I wonder if the slightly less than perfect texture/height of the loaf could have anything at all to do with the conditions under which it was baked? Chasing my maniac of a one year old out of the dog dishes. He thinks its hilarious to run into the kitchen and splash in Addi’s water. Seriously cheeky smile when he’s told ‘No’

So tomorrow I’m going to check out Vancouver’s new Baker’s Market. Then when I get home I’m making pumpkin soup for a pot luck. With FRESH pumpkin–I went for a massage last night and my RMT gave me a pumpkin from her garden-bonus!! AND, we have a sitter for tomorrow night!! Kyle and I are going to a show-together!! It’s the last show that our friends, the Parallels, are playing.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

