Owls for Shannon

Owls for Shannon

Chocolate Owl Cupcakes

I made these owls for Shannon, she loves owls, and I love her. Makes sense! I had been out of town unexpectedly for her birthday, so these are Happy Two Weeks After Your Birthday cupcakes. I got the decorating instructions from Hello Cupcake. I used almond slivers  for the beaks instead of yellow runts, and p b M&M’s for the eyeballs instead of junior mints. The cupcake books are really great. They have easy instructions, mostly easy to find supplies, and are great for inspiration.

Deciding on a cupcake recipe however, was not easy. I had three cookbooks out in front of me, and was on Bake and Destroy, comparing chocolate cupcake recipes. I was trying to decide between vegan, Hershey’s and vegan cookies and cream. Instead of trying something new I stuck with old faithful, Quick ‘N’ Easy Chocolate Cupcakes, from my go to Hershey book. I’m really wishing I had done the Cookies And Cream from Bake and Destroy. They looked so good. I think that I needed to bake what I knew would work; I was having the kind of week where if they had failed, it would have been the last straw!!!

Quick ‘N’ Easy Chocolate Cupcakes
2 cups all purpose flour
1 1/2 cups sugar
2/3 cup cocoa
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
2/3 cup shortening (I used Earth Balance)
2 eggs
2/3 cup milk (I used buttermilk from powder)
1/2 cup hot water
1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
Heat oven to 350. Line 30 muffin cups. (again with the yield–I got 19!!). In a large mixer bowl stir together dry ingredients. Add shortening, eggs, milk, water and vanilla. Beat on low speed 1 minute. Beat on medium speed an additional 3 minutes, or until mixture is smooth and creamy. Fill prepared cups about halfway. Bake 15-20 minutes or until centre of cupcake springs back when touched lightly in centre. Remove from pan and cool on a wire rack.

Next time, I WILL try a new recipe!!


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

