Heat Wave

tasty bread

Banana Zucchini Bread

It was 30 degrees in Vancouver today, and 350 degrees inside my apartment. I decided to bake during the heat wave. I really didn’t have a choice! The heat was turning my bananas brown so fast I just had to put them in some tasty bread! I’m still working through farm share zucchini, so that went in the bread too. This is my most successful banana bread in a long time. The last few have been pretty dry…too many chocolate chips perhaps? (I usually add a cup of chips but was all out today-shameful)  Is that possible? Too much chocolate? Or did I finally get the perfect baking time? Likely it was the zucchini. Instead of the 3 bananas the recipe calls for, I used 2 and about 3/4 of a cup of finely grated zucchini. I also added about a tsp of vanilla, and used Earth’s Balance in place of butter.

When a recipe calls for beaten eggs; does it really make a difference if they’re pre-beaten or get mixed up along the way?

2/3 cup sugar
2 tbsp butter
2 eggs beaten
3 bananas
2 cups all purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
Cream together sugar and butter. Add beaten eggs and then mashed bananas. Add dry ingredients. Pour into a greased loaf pan. Bake in a 350 degree oven for about 50 minutes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Heat Wave

  1. Mo morden says:

    Um, did I just hear you say too much chocolate? NEVER!! I hope when you read tat you heard me yell never!!

Leave a Reply

