Bigger Rack

I really need to get a bigger cooling rack. Mine fits about 9 cookies, 12 if I let them hang over the sides. Not good for super moist cookies, they’ll just fall apart. Tonight I made Reese’s Pieces Chocolate Cookies. The recipe comes from my Hershey’s Chocolate Lover’s Cookbook. I’ve had this book since I was about 14 years old, but this is the first time I’ve tried this recipe. I modified it, of course. I used Peanut Butter M&M’s instead of Reese’s Pieces, soy milk instead of dairy and Earth’s Balance instead of butter. Seriously good cookies. The recipe instructed ‘do not overbake’ My first batch was slightly underbaked, a little fall-aparty, (but completely edible) and the third batch were a smidge overbaked, still soft on the inside, but a bit crunchy on the outside. I’m going to assume that the second batch is  perfect – haven’t  tried one yet.

Chocolate Cookies

Batch One

Chocolate Cookies

Batch Three

What is with recipe yields? This one says three and a half dozen. I got 27 cookies. Still way too many to cool completely on my tiny rack.

Reese’s Pieces Chocolate Cookies

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter or marg
1 cup sugar
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1/2 cup cocoa
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 cup milk
1 1/4 Pieces or M&M’s, divided
Heat oven to 375 degrees. In a large mixer bowl, beat butter, sugar, egg and vanilla until well blended. Stir together flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt; add alternately with milk to butter mixture, beating until well blended.
Stir in 3/4 cup of candies. Drop by teaspoonful onto ungreased cookie sheet. Place 2-3 of remaining candies on top of each cookie near centre.
Bake 10 to 11 minutes or until soft-set (do not overbake). Cool one minute; remove from cookie sheet to wire rack. Cool completely.
About 3 1/2 dozen cookies. (not likely….)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

