Feeding Friends

Zucchini Chocolate Chip Cookies

Zucchini Chocolate Chip

On Saturday night my friend Natasha gave birth to a beautiful baby girl, Olive Lucille.  She was supported by her amazing husband Christian, cared for by two midwives and I had the honour of attending as their doula. I could write pages and pages about their birth, and the others I have had the privilege to attend, but this post is about FOOD!  Our friends here in Vancouver have a really great tradition when babies are born–they bring dinner!! Every other night for about three weeks someone comes by with food, stays for a quick baby cuddle, chat and maybe even does some dishes or takes the dog out for a pee. Tonight its our turn. I took the cookies over yesterday and they were a hit! For dinner they have a choice between spinach, tomato and sundried tomato quiche or broccoli and garlic scape quiche. Natasha can’t have dairy so I made the quiches with soy cheese and soy milk.

quiche

soy cheese quiche

3 eggs per frozen pie shell
1 cup’ish shredded soy cheese per shell
1/3 cup soy milk per shell
1/2 cup broccoli florets
1/2 a garlic scape, thinly sliced
3-4 cherry tomatoes, sliced
1-2 sundried tomatoes sliced
handful fresh spinach leaves
pepper to taste
Spread the cheese and  ‘toppings’ in the bottom of each pie shell. Beat the eggs with the milk and a few grinds of pepper. Pour the mixture into the pie shell, it won’t quite cover the toppings. Bake in a 4oo degree oven for about half an hour. Watch to make sure the crust doesn’t burn.  You can eat it fresh from the oven, or cold, or re-heated.
Vegan Anything Goes Muffins

Vegan Apricot Berry Muffins

We’re taking them some muffins too. I remember in the early days,  waking up for the middle of the night feedings being starving hungry. Must   have snacks.  For these muffins I modified the Anything Goes Muffin recipe,  from How it All Vegan, to use the ingredients I had on hand. Thank you Babycakes for introducing me to baking with coconut oil!  These muffins didn’t brown as much as when I usually bake them, but they rose higher and are nice and moist.

Anything Goes Fruit-Filled Muffins
2 cups flour
1/2 tsp salt
3 tsp baking powder
1/2 cup sweetener
egg replacer for two eggs, (woops, I did only one egg)
1/4 cup oil–I used coconut
3/4 cup sour soy milk–I used almond and soured it with 1 tsp of vinegar
1 1/2 cups of fruit–I used an apricot and one cup of frozen berries, health mix again
Preheat oven to 350. In a large bowl, stir together flour, salt, and baking powder.  Add the sweetener, egg replacer, oil, sour milk and fruit. Stir together until ‘just mixed’ Scoop into lightly oiled muffin tins and bake for 35-45 minutes. Check with a toothpick.

The book says that it makes 6 muffins but today I got ten, and if I’m chintzy with the batter I get 12.

I would gladly bake every day for an excuse to cuddle a newborn!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

