Berry Muffins

Vegan Berry Muffins

Vegan Berry Muffins

I made these muffins for a toddler hang sesh at my friend Christina’s. Ewan isn’t quite toddling on his own, but he’s trying his hardest. It was a nice way to spend the afternoon; good music, great friends, entertained kids, tea and snacks!

The recipe for these muffins is the Blueberry Muffin recipe from The Garden of Vegan cookbook. I used frozen mixed berries in place of blueberries. (‘Health Mix’ in fact-bluebs, blackberries and black raspberries) I was a little worried that they would be too fruity or too seedy but they were just right.

Blueberry Muffins

1 cup soy milk
1 cup rolled oats
1 cup flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
egg replacer to equal 1 egg
1/4 cup olive oil
1/2 cup dry sweetener
1 cup fresh or frozen blueberries
Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. In a medium bowl, stir together the soy milk and oat flakes. Set aside for 10 minutes. In a large bowl, stir together the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Stir in the egg replacer, oil, sweetener and oat mixture. Gently stir in the blueberries and spoon into lightly oiled muffin tins. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.
Reprinted with permissions from The Garden of Vegan by Tanya Barnard and Sarah Kramer (Arsenal Pulp Press)

I was also excited to try my new local and organic flour that I found. Anita’s Organics is a mill in Chilliwack, only about an hour away. The flour performed as expected-like flour. I just finished reading Animal Vegetable Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver, so I’m trying to ‘think locally’ right now.

On a less enviro note, I made my first order from Bake it Pretty last night! I’m super stoked for it to arrive. Lovely cupcake liners in the mail-yes please!!! (not so local….oh dear)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

